Richard Beasley's House

Richard Beasley’s house was a brick building with two wood frame wings on either side. The main part of the house measured 40’ x  50’ while the frame wings each measured about 20’ x 20’. In 1804, a traveller, staying with Beasley, described the house as lacking in the usual comforts. It seems that at that time Beasley had not fully furnished his new house and was still using his first house which was made of clap boarded log and located alongside his wharf and storehouses on Burlington Bay.

By the time the army arrived in the spring of 1813, Beasley, his wife Henrietta and their eight children were all living in the new house. Once the family had left, the army immediately started making changes. While it is not clear what changes the army made, after the war, Beasley submitted a bill to the Provincial Board of Claims for damages to the house by carpenters, for the amount of £125.00, a very large amount of money in 1815. It may have been that temporary walls were added to provide private space for the officers using the home. It may also have been that the army converted the strongly built brick building into a defensive structure.